PREMIERE: Elusive – Sand Dunes on Mars

February 9, 2016

Every now and then you hear music that feels so cozy and homey that you find it hard to believe that you haven’t heard it anywhere before. The California-based Elusive‘s new album entitled ‘Textures’ is an exquisite example: it surprises your body and mind in the right places. 

Elusive - Textures

Elusive’s third release on Alpha Pup Records perfectly showcases what an instrumental hip-hot veteran is capable of after having released more than 20 records in the last two decades. As the album cover might suggest, this collection of 16 tracks feels like the most relaxing time in the sauna: hot and steamy. 

‘Textures’ could be described as a marvelous example of endless creativity and brave exploration, not being afraid of drifting into chaos but touching the surface of frenzy-groovy sounds. Warm layers of jazz, funk and soul, clicky percussions, soft drums, samples and synths are aligned in the utmost harmony for your listening pleasure. Sounds Of A Tired City got the exclusive premiere of ‘Sand Dunes on Mars’ off the new album, which is a slightly futuristic journey into the past. We cannot guarantee that you won’t feel like dancing. 

As the tracklist might suggest – pretty accurately – this is an otherworldly journey from the deepest depths of the jungle to all the way to remote planets. The smooth vocals of ‘Love Is Enough’, the playful melodies of ‘Signal of Light’, the slightly tribal eeriness of ‘Chants To The Stars’, the dreamy beats of ‘Jungle Mirage’ and the loopy rhythms and elaborate textures of ‘Astral Living’ are the small but vital particles in this collection of textures. 

Among Elusive’s influences we can find J Dilla, John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Nina Simone and Herbie Hancock, but his work is also warmly recommended for Dimlite and Lukid fans – been a while since we heard from them anyway. 

‘Textures’ will be out on 27 February on Alpha Pup Records.


01 Moonbeamz
02 Love Is Enough
03 Signal Of Light
04 Whirlwind
05 Chants To The Stars
06 Sand Dunes On Mars
07 Simple Joys
08 Live Without U
09 Jungle Mirage
10 Morning After
11 In The Dark Of Night
12 Rollin Stoned
13 Jungle Gym
14 Astral Living
15 Minor 11
16 Ice Patternz







Alpha Pup Records


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *